Our Olympian

Day one was a bit shocking.  Although we hardly expected to come home from the hospital and race straight to the park, we weren’t entirely prepared for Zachary’s reaction to his newly recovered freedom.

The doctor was called.

“This isn’t right.  Something is very wrong.  He’s screaming bloody murder at the mere suggestion of moving.  He only lies on the couch and wont let us touch him.  He wont sit up to eat, or allow us to change his diaper.”

She responded,

“It can take months.  This is normal.  Kids learn to love the cast.  It becomes a part of them.  They are always unhappy with me when I take it off.  Every day, he should show some improvement, but it takes a long time.”

That evening, after a scream we hadn’t heard since that fateful day in Central Park, I begged him to tell me if he really was in pain or if he was just scared.

“I’m just scared.  I can’t move my leg.  It will break”

We talked for a while about how his leg was healed and would not break. Hours past his bedtime, he drifted off to sleep in his favorite “spica” position, missing his protection.

Accepting that this would be a longer road than we anticipated, we called it a night ourselves.  He’ll move when he’s ready. We’ll take our cues from him.

This was his progress by the end of Day Two

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-91Uxnwkelc

Still a long way to go, but at this rate, he’ll be competing in the 2014 Winter Olympics!

Have a click!

9 responses to “Our Olympian

  1. Hi Emily! I’m so glad Zachary got his Spica cast off. The poor little guy! Have the doctors said anything about physical therapy? I don’t know if that’s appropriate for that age or not. I wish him a speedy recovery. Laurie

  2. Well he is just so adorable! And he will be running before you know it! Good for him for trying to walk 🙂 and I love the comment, “over here in this direction”… He is precious 🙂 yr doing great, mom.. One small step at a time.

  3. Yay for Zachary! I have to tell you we watched the video a few times at my house because my kids just loved hearing him talk and explain what he was thinking/feeling. I love his determination and his reflective nature. He is a champion. 🙂

  4. So glad he’s doing better. His video warms my heart.

  5. My son is two weeks off from getting his cast removed, do you have any tips for the day of removal and post removal care? Thank you!

    • Hello! Just be patient. He will bounce back sooner than you think, but that first day is jarring. To both the parents and the child. you can feel free to bathe him, but take your cues from him. I remember that Zachary was hesitant to be put in the tub just because he didn’t trust that he could be put into that position without it hurting. After about 24 hours of not wanting to move, he got distracted and didn’t realize that he had gone out of his “comfort zone”. When I alerted him, he started to trust that things weren’t really hurting as much as he was fearing they would. So, of course be gentle and take your cues from him. Feel free to email me personally if you have any questions at all emilyrozek@gmail.com Good luck!

Comment here

